Just like students, teachers also get nervous about the first day of school. Today is the day before school starts and I was talking to Mrs. Dean in my room about how excited we were for school to start. All of a sudden we both felt very shaky...
Could it be first day jitters?

The BUILDING was shaking! We were experiencing the shock-waves of an earthquake that struck in Mineral, Virginia at 1:51 PM. The magnitude (or size) of the earthquake was measured at 5.8.

A few stacks of our Classroom Library books were swaying with the earth's movements. It was quite a thrilling experience and an exciting way to start the new school year! I have included a few photos of minor damage that occurred at Bester right after the earthquake. So glad that everyone and everything is safe and OK!

Did you feel the earthquake? What were you doing when it happened? How did it feel to you? I thought it was very scary but also a very unusual feeling to feel an earthquake. I can't wait to meet you tomorrow and hopefully you will share your earthquake experience with me!  



Leave a Reply.


All photo rights belong to Mrs. Leifer. Please do not copy.